MotorSport New Zealand Race Championships

Welcome to the official home of the MotorSport New Zealand Race Championships. The Premier Race Championship Series runs the length of the country so all New Zealanders can have access to a major motorsport event near them each summer. 

Toyota Racing Series at Christchurch. Photo: Geoff RidderPREMIER RACING CALENDAR UNITES KIWI MOTORSPORT

23 June 2015

New Zealand motor racing is in pole position for its best season in years after agreement was reached to unite the country’s racing series under one Premier Racing Calendar.

MotorSport New Zealand together with a newly-formed Series Organising Group consisting of the major North Island racing categories and the Historic Racing Club agreed a calendar that will include a combined V8 grid for NZV8, TLX and V8 SuperTourer schedule cars to be known as New Zealand Touring Cars, the spectacular Toyota Race Series and the New Zealand Grand Prix. The Ssangyong Summer Series will also run within the Premier Racing Calendar.

Nine top level circuit racing events will be on offer to Kiwi race fans, made up of eight race meetings in the Premier Racing Calendar and the Australian V8 Supercar round at Pukekohe.

Premier Racing Calendar

Event 1    Taupo Motorsport Park            October 17 and 18
Event 2*    Pukekohe Park  Raceway (Supercar event)    November 6 and 7
Event 3    Hampton Downs Motorsport Park        November 28 and 29
Event 4    Mike Pero Motorsport Park Ruapuna        January 16 and 17
Event 5    Teretonga Park Raceway            January 23 and 24
Event 6    Hampton Downs Motorsport Park        January 29 and 31
Event 7    Taupo Motorsport Park            February 6 and 7
Event 8**    Manfeild Autocourse (New Zealand GP)    February 12 to 14
Event 9    Pukekohe Park Raceway            April 16 and 17

*Event not organised or promoted as part of the Premier Racing Calendar
**Event promoted by Manfeild

The Historic Racing Club will organise and promote all events, with the aim of giving each event the same ‘iconic’ status currently enjoyed by events like the NZ Grand Prix, the New Zealand Festival of Motor Racing and the V8 Festival.  The HRC will continue to run its other events, with an expanded Club Motorsport calendar in addition to the Premier Calendar and its regular Historic Motorsport programme.

Welcoming the outcomes of the meeting, Johnston explained: “This was an historic day for the sport with everyone together in a room working to build a better future for circuit motor racing in New Zealand. There was a great deal of goodwill and a lot of hard work had already been put in to bring the calendar together even before the meeting. We have some great categories racing at some great circuits and the job now is to turn them into the best events we can. There is some fine tuning to do and plenty more work, but we can now all move ahead together in the best interests of the sport. Exciting times definitely lie ahead.”

MotorSport New Zealand President Shayne Harris said: “MSNZ is encouraged by the co-operation displayed by the major race categories in an attempt to rejuvenate the top end of the Sport. MSNZ supports the formation of the Series Organisers Group and looks forward to working with that group and being part of what signals the start of a bright future for premier motorsport in New Zealand.”

Announcements of categories confirmed for each event will be made soon, but the Premier Race Calendar will include the following categories; the Toyota Racing Series, New Zealand Touring Cars, UDC V8 Utes, the Ssangyong Race Series, Tradezone GTRNZ (GT1/GT2/NZGT), ENZED Central Muscle Cars and the Toyota Finance 86 Championship, with Formula Ford, Formula First, Pre-65, Motul Honda Cup, NZ Sportscars, Superkarts, Pro 7 and OSCA all making likely appearances on the card.

read more

Simon Evans at Pukekohe ITM 500Ash Blewett at Pukekohe ITM 500. Photo: Bruce JenkinsNathan Pilcher of Winton gets some air over the kerbs at Pukekohe Park Raceway in the ZIC OIL NZ Commodore during Round 2 of the BNT NZ Touring Car Championship. Photo: Euan CameronCraig Baird leads the field of NZ Touring Cars at Pukekohe ITM 500. Photo: Simon Chapman


"We are happy with the car and we feel we are closer with the handling of the car since Taupo and getting on pace with the others. The crew are a well oiled machine and the whole event was awesome." Photo: Little Devil Motorsport Media

Toyota TR86 at Pukekohe ITM 500
Liam MacDonald and Nathan Pilcher at Pukekohe ITM 500. Photo: Simon Chapman

Brock Cooley of Wellington charging hard over the kerbs during Round 2 of the BNT NZ Touring Car Series in his Speedy Signs Falcon at Pukekohe Park Raceway. Photo: John Cowpland






Latest News


26 Nov 2015

The new-look motor racing season in New Zealand got off to a great start with the first Premier Motorsport event at Taupo Motorsport Park in October, before the big classes then moved on to the ITM 500 V8 Supercar event at Pukekohe. More

Munro seeking redemption in TRS Series

20 Nov 2015

Christchurch racing driver James Munro is seeking redemption in this summer's Toyota Racing Series after a frustrating run in the 2015 championship at the start of this year. More

Young drivers lining up for NZ Touring Car grid

20 Nov 2015

A spot on the BNT NZ Touring Car grid is becoming more popular for young Australasian drivers wanting to cut their teeth in top level touring car racing as the category's class two steadily grows. More

Ross Happy With Nissan Performance at Pukekohe

17 Nov 2015

Nick Ross and the Concept Motorsport crew overcame the blowing of an engine in Saturday's qualifying session to be back on the pace and running with the leaders for Sunday's competition at the ITM 500 held at Pukekohe Park Raceway last weekend. More

Ash Blewett serves notice of TR86 Intentions

12 Nov 2015

Auckland driver Ash Blewett has set the 16-strong grid for this year's Toyota Finance 86 Championship an emphatic challenge with three wins from three starts. More


10 Nov 2015

Winton based NZ Touring Car driver Nathan Pilcher has described his first appearance at the ITM 500 V8 Supercar meeting at Pukekohe Park near Auckland last weekend as "amazing." More

Piquet returns for Toyota Racing Series

10 Nov 2015

Pedro Piquet, the youngest son of three times Formula One World Champion Nelson Piquet is returning to New Zealand for a full blown assault on next January and February's five round Toyota Racing Series. More

Evans wins Pukekohe round

10 Nov 2015

The sun shone, and fans were treated to a 22-car grid at round two of the BNT NZ Touring Cars championship held at Pukekohe over the weekend, running as the main support class to the V8 Supercars ITM500. More
Event Tickets TV Schedules Results / Points
2015/2016 — Top 5 Standings
Pos. Car No. Name Car Make Points
1 4 Simon Evans Holden ST 373
2 32 Mitch Cunningham Ford ST 356
3 97 Jason Bargwanna Toyota TLX 322
4 8 Tim Edgell Holden ST 306
5 3 Angus Fogg Holden ST 263