New Zealand Grand Prix

The title "Grand Prix" has been in existence since the very early days of Motorsport in the world. In New Zealand this premier New Zealand race was recognised in 1950 on the Ohakea Air Force Base circuit. It recommenced as our annual event in 1954 at Ardmore, another airfield circuit, and finally moved onto a permanent race track in 1963 at Pukekohe, where it remained until 1992 with the exception of the 1974 year being held in Christchurch at the Wigram Airfield as part of the Commonwealth Games.

The Motorsport Association of New Zealand Executive, in 1992, decided that this premier event should be open to other permanent circuits in New Zealand to host, hence the later years showing Manfeild and Ruapuna.

During the 1996 to 1998 period there was no contest for this event due to the demise of a New Zealand based premier single seater class.

However, in November 1998, in conjunction with The MotorSport Company, arrangements were concluded to restructure the Grand Prix based on a field of the Australian Formula Holden class thereby reintroducing the premier open wheel single seater class and providing the extra progression stage for the competitors. With the demise of Formula Holden as a NZ Championship at the conclusion of the 2000/01 season the title was allocated to the Formula Ford class with which it remained for four seasons. The introduction of the Toyo2015 New Zealand Grand Prix winner: Lance Strollta Racing Series saw the title re-allocated in the 2005/06 season to this NZ Championship.

The 2016 New Zealand Grand Prix will be held on Sunday 14 February 2016 at Manfeild Circuit, Feilding.


Pictured is Lance Stroll (Canada) - winner of
the 2015 New Zealand Grand Prix held at Manfeild. 



New Zealand Grand Prix Winners

Year Name Car   Year  Name Car
Manfeild Circuit       
2015 Lance Stroll (Canada) Toyota Tatuus FT-50 |  
2014 Nick Cassidy (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ |  
2013 Nick Cassidy (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ | Pukekohe Circuit
2012 Nick Cassidy (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ 1981 Dave McMillan (NZ) Ralt RT1
2011 Mitch Evans (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ 1980 Steve Millen (NZ) Ralt RT1
2010 Earl Bamber (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ 1979 Teo Fabi (Italy) March 79
2009 Daniel Gaunt (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ | 1978 Keke Rosberg (Finland) Chevron B34
2008 Andy Knight (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ 1977 Keke Rosberg (Finland) Chevron B34
Teretonga Park | 1976 Ken Smith (NZ) Lola T332
2007 Daniel Gaunt (NZ) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ | 1975 Warwick Brown (Aust) Lola TA332
2006 Hamad Al Fardan (Bahrain) Toyota Tatuus TT104ZZ Wigram Airfield
2005 Simon Gamble (NZ) Spectrum 010 1974 John McCormack (Aust) Elfin 5L
2004 Ken Smith MBE (NZ) Van Diemen Evo2 Pukekohe Circuit
2003 Jonathan Reid (NZ) Van Diemen Stealth RF94 | 1973 John McCormack (Aust) Elfin 5L
2002 Fabian Coulthard (NZ) Van Diemen Stealth RF94 1972 Frank Gardner (Aust) Lola T300 5L
Pukekohe Circuit | 1971 Niel Allen (Aust) McLaren M10B 5L
2000 Andy Booth (NZ) Reynard 94D 1970 Frank Matich (Aust) McLaren M10A 5L
Ruapuna Park 1969 Chris Amon (NZ) Ferrari 2.4L
1999 Simon Wills (NZ) Reynard 94D 1968 Chris Amon (NZ) Ferrari 2.4L
1998 Simon Wills (NZ) Reynard 94D 1967 Jackie Stewart (GB) BRM 2.2L
Manfeild Circuit 1966 Graham Hill (GB) BRM 2L
1995 Brady Kennett (NZ) Reynard 91D 1965 Graham Hill (GB) Brabham 2.5L
1994 Greg Murphy (NZ) Reynard 90D 1964 Bruce McLaren (NZ) Cooper 2.5L
1993 Craig Baird (NZ) Reynard 92H | 1963 John Surtees (GB) Lola 2.7L
1992 Craig Baird (NZ) Reynard 92H Ardmore Circuit 
Pukekohe Circuit   | 1962 Stirling Moss (GB) Lotus 2.5L
1991 Craig Baird (NZ) Swift/Toyota | 1961 Jack Brabham (Aust) Cooper 2.5L
1990 Ken Smith MBE (NZ) Swift/Cosworth 1960 Jack Brabham (Aust) Cooper 2.5L
1989 Dean Hall (USA) Swift/Cosworth | 1959 Stirling Moss (GB) Cooper 2.5L
1988 Paul Radisich (NZ) Ralt RT4 | 1958 Jack Brabham (Aust) Cooper 2L
1987 Davy Jones (USA) Ralt RT4 | 1957 Reg Parnell (GB) 3.5L Ferrari
1986 Ross Cheever (USA) Ralt RT4 1956 Stirling Moss (GB) 250F Maserati
1985 Ross Cheever (USA) Ralt RT4 | 1955 Prince B. Bira (Thailand) Maserati
1984 Davy Jones (USA) Ralt RT4 | 1954 Stan Jones (Aust) Maybach Special
1983 David Oxton (NZ) Ralt RT4 | Ohakea Circuit
1982 Roberto Moreno (Brazil) Ralt RT4 | 1950 John McMillan (NZ) Jackson Special


MotorSport New Zealand

Thanks to MotorSport New Zealand for their continued support with the title of the New Zealand Grand Prix